every current world champion in boxing

BBN list every current world champion in boxing - Five Britons make the list

Published On Sunday, January 27, 2019By Tim Rickson

Every male world champion in boxing as of January 2019

The sport of boxing is infamous for being saturated with belts. Each of the 17 weight divisions from heavyweight (200lbs+) all the way down to minimumweight (105lbs) has four major world titles and BBN have listed all of them here.

The WBA, WBC, IBF and WBO are boxing’s four recognised governing bodies, with IBO seen as a 'fringe' belt, but the associations can sometimes create superfluous extra belts. The WBA are notorious for this, much to fight fans' frustrations, with 'Regular' and 'Super' titles. It creates crazy conditions where a 'Super' champion will want to fight the lesser 'Regular' champion, such as Keith Thurman looking down on a fight with Manny Pacquiao right now.

In the list below, there are no ‘interim’, ‘diamond’, ‘silver’ or ‘gold’ titles, and certainly no ‘regular’ titles to keep things simple.



  • WBA: Anthony Joshua
  • WBC: Deontay Wilder
  • IBF: Anthony Joshua
  • WBO: Anthony Joshua

AJ also has the unrecognised IBO belt



  • WBA: Oleksandr Usyk
  • WBC: Oleksandr Usyk
  • IBF: Oleksandr Usyk
  • WBO: Oleksandr Usyk

Oleksandr Usyk has unified the entire cruiserweight division



  • WBA: Dmitry Bivol
  • WBC: Oleksandr Gvozdyk
  • IBF: Artur Beterbiev
  • WBO: Eleider Alvarez



  • WBA: Callum Smith
  • WBC: Vacant
  • IBF: Caleb Plant
  • WBO: Gilberto Ramirez



  • WBA: Canelo Alvarez
  • WBC: Canelo Alvarez
  • IBF: Daniel Jacobs
  • WBO: Demetrius Andrade



  • WBA: Jarrett Hurd
  • WBC: Tony Harrison
  • IBF: Jarrett Hurd
  • WBO: Jaime Munguia



  • WBA: Keith Thurman
  • WBC: Shawn Porter
  • IBF: Errol Spence
  • WBO: Terence Crawford



  • WBA: Kiryl Relikh
  • WBC: Jose Ramirez
  • IBF: Ivan Baranchyk
  • WBO: Maurice Hooker



  • WBA: Vasyl Lomachenko
  • WBC: Mikey Garcia
  • IBF: Vacant
  • WBO: Vasyl Lomachenko



  • WBA: Gervonta Davis
  • WBC: Miguel Berchelt
  • IBF: Tevin Farmer
  • WBO: Masayuki Ito

Alberto Machado should in be the WBA champion, however they inexplicably classified him as ‘regular’ champion instead



  • WBA: Leo Santa Cruz
  • WBC: Gary Russell Jr
  • IBF: Josh Warrington
  • WBO: Oscar Valdez



  • WBA: Daniel Roman
  • WBC: Rey Vargas
  • IBF: TJ Doheny
  • WBO: Emanuel Navarrete



  • WBA: Nonito Donaire
  • WBC: Nordine Oubaali
  • IBF: Emmanuel Rodriguez
  • WBO: Zolani Tete



  • WBA: Kal Yafai
  • WBC: Srisaket Sor Rungvisai
  • IBF: Jerwin Ancajas
  • WBO: Donnie Nietes



  • WBA: Artem Dalakian
  • WBC: Charlie Edwards
  • IBF: Moruti Mthalane
  • WBO: Kosei Tanaka



  • WBA: Hiroto Kyoguchi
  • WBC: Ken Shiro
  • IBF: Felix Alvarado
  • WBO: Angel Acosta



  • WBA: Thammanoon Niyomtrong
  • WBC: Wanheng Menayothin
  • IBF: Carlos Licona
  • WBO: Vic Saludar