BBBofC Awards 2018

BBBofC Awards 2018 nominees announced

Published On Sunday, August 19, 2018By British Boxing News

The nominees for the prestigious BBBofC Awards 2018 have been officially announced

The star-studded awards will take place at the Royal Lancaster London on September 28.

BBN have listed all of the categories and nominees below:

Contest of the Year

Tommy Langford (20-1) vs Jason Welborn (22-6)
British middleweight championship
Walsall Town Hall, Walsall - May 4, 2018

Carl Frampton (24-1) vs Nonito Donaire (38-4)
interim WBO World featherweight championship
The SSE Arena, Belfast - April 21, 2018

Josh Warrington (26-0) vs Lee Selby (26-1)
IBF World featherweight championship
Elland Road, Leeds - May 19, 2018#

Josh Taylor (12-0) vs Viktor Postol (29-1)
WBC Silver super-lightweight championship
The SSE Hydro, Glasgow - June 23, 2018

Dereck Chisora (28-8) vs Carlos Takam (35-4-1)
WBA International heavyweight championship
O2 Arena, Greenwich - July 28, 2018

Boxer of the Year Nominees

Ryan Burnett (19-0)
WBA Super World bantamweight champion

George Groves (28-3)
WBA Super World super-middleweight champion

Anthony Joshua (19-0)
WBA Super, IBF, WBO, IBO World heavyweight champion

Lewis Ritson (16-0)
British lightweight champion

Billy Joe Saunders (26-0)
WBO World middleweight champion

Josh Taylor (16-0)
WBC Silver super-lightweight champion

Josh Warrington (27-0)
IBF World featherweight champion

Trainer of the Year Nominees

David Coldwell

Joe Gallagher

Shane McGuigan

Robert McCracken MBE

Jamie Moore

Sean O'Hagen

Overseas Boxer of the Year

Katie Taylor (10-0)
WBA, IBF World Female lightweight champion

Maurice Hooker (24-0)
WBO World super-lightweight champion

Viktor Postol (29-2)
Former WBC World super-lightweight champion

Emmanuel Rodriguez (18-0)
IBF World bantamweight champion

Services to Boxing Award - This trophy is awarded to honour special services to the sport of boxing. Previous winners have included Sir Henry Cooper.

Special Recognition Award - This trophy is awarded to acknowledge special services to the sport of boxing. Previous winners have incuded Kieran Farrell and Terry Downes.

Dennie Mancini Trophy - This trophy is awarded to the person deemed to achieved the most in that year to the aims of Commonwealth Boxing. Previous winners have included Carl Frampton, Carl Froch and Amir Khan.