17 British boxers named in latest Ring Magazine Top 10 rankings

17 British boxers named in latest Ring Magazine Top 10 rankings

Published On Monday, November 2, 2020By Tim Rickson
Related Tags: The Ring Magazine

Brits are leading the way in latest Ring ratings

17 UK fighters are currently sitting high in The Ring Magazine’s Top 10 rankings, making up almost 10% of the entire list.

The esteemed list, with an impressive three Brits as champions, was last updated midway through October 2020.

American legend Jack Dempsey was the first ever fighter to be awarded with a Ring world title back in 1922. Benny Lynch, regarded as Scotland’s greatest ever boxer, was the first Briton to be awarded a Ring belt (flyweight) in 1937, followed by four other Brits, meaning the coveted championship was on these shores for 23 years.

83 years on from Benny’s crowning moment and Brits are still dominating the boxing world. Betting on boxing is another big British thing, you can find tips on Betbonuscode365 and take advantage of awesome promotions using bet365bonuscode for your boxing bets.

See in full below:



Champion: Tyson Fury - 'The Gypsy King' has held all of the heavyweight world titles at some point and is the current WBC titleholder

#1 Anthony Joshua - Two-time heavyweight world champion AJ currently holds the WBA 'Super', IBF, WBO, and IBO titles

#4 Dillian Whyte - Dillian Whyte was WBC interim champion but lost his title when Povetkin upset him recently with a fifth-round KO, but he has the rematch booked in for the New Year



#6 Lawrence Okolie - The Rio 2016 Olympian challenges for the WBO World cruiserweight title in just his 15th fight on the undercard of Joshua-Pulev on December 12



#9 Anthony Yarde - Light-heavyweight powerhouse Yarde is a world title challenger who came seconds away from beating Sergey Kovalev in 2019



Champion: Callum Smith - 'Mundo' won the WBSS back in 2018 and is the current WBA 'Super' and WBC Diamond champion

#5 Billy Joe Saunders - BJS is a two-weight WBO World champion set for a title defence to fellow Brit Martin Murray on December 4

#7 John Ryder - 'The Gorilla' challenged Ring champion Callum Smith in his last fight in November 2019 and was very hard done by on the scorecards, many believing he deserved to win



#7 Chris Eubank Jr - Brighton boxer Eubank Jr is the current interim WBA World and IBO middleweight champion as well

#9 Liam Williams - Welshman Williams is a two-weight British titlist and WBO #1



Champion: Josh Taylor - WBSS winner Taylor is the reigning WBA 'Super' and IBF World super-lightweight champion



#4 Luke Campbell - Olympic gold medallist Luke Campbell is a two-time world title challenger, giving a great account of himself in both challenges



#1 Josh Warrington - 'Leeds Warrior' Warrington has held the IBF World featherweight strap for two and a half years now

#4 Kid Galahad - Qatar-born Abdul Barry Awad took Josh Warrington all the way to a split decision in June 2019, but bounced back with a fine win over Claudio Marrero in February this year



#5 Kal Yafai - Birmingham boxer Yafai lost his WBA World super-flyweight title to Roman Gonzalez earlier this year and with it his and status as Britain's longest reigning world champion



#5 Andrew Selby - Former British, IBF Inter-Continental and WBC International champion is still highly ranked despite the Welsh 'Superstar' contemplating retirement from the sport

#10 Jay Harris - Swansea's Jay Harris bounced back from world title defeat in October this year with a thoroughly entertaining win over English champ Marcel Braithwaite


From the above list of brilliant Brits, six are due to fight imminently.

December 4: Billy Joe Saunders vs Martin Murray
December 5: Tyson Fury vs Agit Kabayel
December 5: Luke Campbell vs Ryan Garcia
December 12: Anthony Joshua vs Kubrat Pulev
December 12: Lawrence Okolie vs Krzysztof Glowacki
January 30: Dillian Whyte vs Alexander Povetkin


The Ring Magazine's Top 10 P4P List:

#1 Saul Canelo Alvarez
#2 Naoya Inoue
#3 Terence Crawford
#4 Oleksandr Usyk
#5 Errol Spence Jr
#6 Teofimo Lopez
#7 Vasiliy Lomachenko
#8 Juan Francisco Estrada
#9 Gennadiy Golovkin
#10 Artur Beterbiev